E – Embrace Yourself

I realized this didn’t get posted.  POSTING!

Embracing yourself sounds pretty corny, but you’re you.  You can’t be anyone else.  Oh sure, you can reinvent yourself, you can move away and find new people, but the relationship with ourselves stays the same no matter where we live, where we work or who we are with.

I decided a long time ago that I want to be the person that I wished my friends were:

  • Fun
  • Energetic
  • Non-Judgemental
  • Helpful
  • Kind
  • Genuine

But then I realized something, I can’t change them and their positive qualities are their own and they don’t have to conform to what I think is a good friend.  So I decided to be a good friend and see what happened.  Then I reconnected with some ladies from high school.  Ugh, I’ll be real honest, I NEVER expected this to go anywhere.  One of the ladies’ daughters was babysitting for me and stopped over to chat with her daughter and we got to talking.  We’d talked at community events, but never made any real plans or anything.  Then we had lunch.  Then we had a girls night out.  Then, magically, I was part of the fold.  We all have different friends, but these core girls know my heart.  They were there when I grew up and they know everything about me.  What they don’t know, they ask and what they do know, they protect like their own hearts.  Everything I say is safe with them.  They are my tribe.

You might be thinking, what does this have to do with embracing yourself?  Well, it took this tribe for me to figure out who I was…really was.  I knew I was a mama.  I knew I was a wife, but I had no idea who I was as a woman until these ladies came along and challenged me to figure out that:

  • I realized that in order to be fun I had to be with people who appreciated my particular brand of silly.
  • To be energetic, I needed to take care of myself and get plenty of rest.
  • For me to not judge others, I had to stop judging myself so harshly.
  • Being helpful wasn’t hard when those in need of my help were so close to my heart.
  • Kindness was easier when I allowed myself to see that kindness was more rewarding than anything else.  Especially when I started being kinder to myself.
  • Genuineness (yes, it’s a word, I looked it up) is just that.  Knowing you don’t know everything, but having the grace and humility to offer yourself and your knowledge anyway.  Being real and sincere with everyone, not just those who deserve your genuineness (I just wanted to use it twice).

My family and friends might have other attributes or weaknesses to describe me, but these are the ones that I’m embracing in myself.  These are the qualities that I want those who love me to use when they describe me to someone else.

Leave a Reply

